Monday, October 29, 2007

Finale

We are done!

Today was monday and we are prepared to leave tomorrow. We had planned on getting up early and heading over to the Vatican but we were up late playing cribbage again. I just wouldn't give up.

So, we got up and went for a walk and bought a few things to take back and then headed back to the hotel. We finaly found a grocery store and laughed at how much cheaper things were. Water was like 30 cents when we have been paying 2 to 3 euros for them. Coke was 1.50 when we have been paying 3 to 4 euros.

We headed back to the hotel and just sat in the atrium and played cribbage most of the afternoon. We went back to the room, made a few phone calls and then went for dinner. Our last.... and it was good. Nice little resturante' run by two elderly folks that barely speak english. Good food, good atmoshphere.

I am now finishing the blog... we are to be up at 4:30am to get our ride to the airport and should be back in Seattle tomorrow by 4:50pm.

We had a very good time and would do it again in a heartbeat. I hope you all have enjoyed reading the blog.

Paddy wants to come back too... and for those who want to know, Paddy is a GeoBear who travels the world with people and reports back to a 5th Grade class in Arlington, Washington. The kids use the clues to find out where the bear has been. This blog has been for our benifit and also Paddy 'Scruufy' o'Malley. My last post will be a link to pictures when I can get them online.

Chao! for now!

Sunday, October 28, 2007

Rome - Day 12

Sunday! Fantasy Football! NO Travel Day for Me!

James and Paddy decided to Travel. They got on the train early this morning and headed for Pompeii. James was there most of the day and didn't get to see it all, and was running out of space on his camera so he didn't get all the pictures he would have liked to have got. But he said this gives him the excuse to go back. He said it was awsome. I guess I will have to come back with him to see it too....hey, maybe thats the vacation I need to recover from this one!

I did't do too much today... I was tired, the blister on my toe hurt... so I went shopping to get stuff to bring home.... and just hung out at the hotel.... nothing to report for me... James and Paddy had all the fun.

Well, time to check Fantasy Football.... Go Spit and Polish!

Chao!

Rome - Day 11

Travel Day!

James went early in the morning to see Saint Peters Basilica.... he was there at 6am and got some nice pictures with a full moon. He went inside and climbed to the top... he had a great time and Paddy of course went with him... they are like two peas in a pod... you just can't seperate them.

I got up and got on the Train to Pisa. I took a 3 hour train ride along the coastline and got into Pisa about 1pm. I walked through town and saw the leaning tower of Pisa and what a sight it was. That is now my second favorite thing about this trip, the Pantheon is number 1. I loved this town, next time I would love to stay the night. I then took the train through tuscanny over to florence. That was beautiful and that train ride was awsome. Took an hour to get to Florence and then I caught the EuroExpress train back to Roma! (Rome for you english types)

I got back to the hotel and James was already asleep. He did laundry and got some things done and just rested.... he needed one of those days too.

I made phone calls and then crashed! My Tired is getting worse... I need a VACATION!

Well, off to sunday.... time to get Fantasy Football setup....

Chao!

Rome - Day 10

It is Friday Morning!

We headed out to the Vatican this morning... it was raining out and it seems that the whole population decided to head over to the Vatican. The lines were very, very, very long! My feet hurt just looking at them. I did take some pictures from the outside, but I didn't have the strength to wait to get in. So, I decided to head back to the hotel and rest.

James on the other hand took Paddy and roamed around Rome all day. They were having a blast and came back 7 hours later and tired from a long day. They went everywhere and discovered new areas. I think James is liking Rome!

We just hung out and then crashed tonight.... it was a day of rest for me, and James had a long day walking around....

Off to tomorrow.... big plans!

Chao!

Friday, October 26, 2007

Rome - Day 9

What a very eventfull day this was... I can barely move... my muscles don't like me much.

James headed out ealy to Pompii but ended up back in the hotel room about 7:30am.... apperently his bank decided to put a hold on his card because there was large withdrawl amounts in a foriegn country. OF COURSE! WERE IN ROME! They even had it on the comptuer that he was in Rome, he just had to call and confirm he was still in Rome and he did make the withdrawls. So, he ended up going with me to Florence!

We got on the Train about 8:50am and headed to Florence. We took the EuroStar fast train and got there in an hour and 30 minutes. Pretty cool train, nice ride... didn't even feel bumby. Paddy seemed to like the train ride again. I think he was excited about going somewhere today and not having to watch any more DVD's.

We got into Florence, and went to a church... OH, lots of churches in Florence... LOTS! This is not a place to tell someone, "I will meet you in Florence by the church!". We saw where Michalangelo Lived... We saw DAVID... the real one... only took about 15 minutes to get in... and is he HUGE... again, romans do things BIG!

We walked around and ended up at this huge church in the middle of town that has a bell tower and another tower you can climb to the top of. It costs 6 Euros and I didn't quite make it to the top. 463 steps and no Lift (Elevator). It wasn't the steps that kept me from going up, it was the heights.... I freaked out... they have this little edge you have to walk accross in the dome inside the church.... I was hating it... so I saw the exit and I scrammed!

James and Paddy made it to the top... they have lots of pictures to share.... I wish I was brave enough to make it to the top... but oh well... we have pictures to see what we missed.

We had lunch and then found the train and headed back to Rome. Nice trip back and relaxing. We stopped off and got some sandwiches and headed back to the hotel to realax. I am tired.... Paddy seems to be ok and ready for more at any time... but James and I are not used to moving around this much.

Well, my muscles hurt and I am tired... but this morning we are heading to the Vatican... YEAH more Walking!!!!

Chao!

Rome - Day 8

Slleeeeeeeep! I need sleeeeeeep!

Lets just say day 8 is catch up day for Cory! I decided to sleep in, and sleep I did. James headed out in the morning to catch a few things for the day and let me sleep until about 11:30. We were supposed to go to the Vatican but I was too tired to get up... I needed rest. James came back and we were going to go in the afternoon but that didn't happen either. James ended up crashing and I went out to let him catch up on some rest.

I my afternoon travels I headed back to the the coloseum to check it out in full. I walked right in, got my ticket and walked around. Amazing structure. I would have loved to have been around to watch them build it. Without cranes, it would be pure labor. Amazing. How did they move those big rocks?

I then headed back to the hotel to see if James wanted to do anything. We just sat in the hotel room watching DVD's and playing cards. We were tired. Not very much of a productive day today. We decided that the next day I was going to go to Florence and James was going to Pompii. (See next day for the adventure to continue)

Chao Chao!

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Rome - Day 7

Small update for Day 6....

After ariving back to the hotel and updating the blog, I was going to go out and get something to eat and look for this huge internet cafe that is in the Rick Steves book. James asked if I was going to get some cappaccino and I said I probably would, so he wanted to go with me. He wasn't hungry and only wanted maybe a bowl of soup to make him feel a little better. We walked all over the place looking for the internet cafe and people kept sending us in different directions. We asked some people at a resturante' and they told us it was accross the street but went out of business 4 months ago.... so much for that thought.

I was hungry so we were looking for a place to eat. Didn't want anything too expensive, just simple... since James wasn't that hungry. Well, we ended up in a little family run resturante' and sat down... James' soup turned into soup, lasagna, wine, water (it costs money here), then he capped it off with a cappaccino and terimisu. I had clams and mussles saute'd, tortollini with meat, glass of wine, tomato soup (awsome - couldn't keep james out of it), bread, and then topped it off with cappaccino and terimusu. All said and done, we closed out the resturante' for the third night in a row and ended up spending 93 euros. This eating thing is getting costly! But it was good... Let me tell you, to make a comparison is to say Olive garden is to Italian as Taco Bell is to Mexican!

Ok.... On to Day 7!

We got up... of course we did, thats what we do first.. duh!

We were up late again the night before... until 2am again... Those last cappuccino kept me awake! I keep blaming James.... hahahahah! We played cribbage and card games and then decided to sleep. So, we ended up getting up late and almost missing breakfast... but I made it.

We got ready and caught a taxi down to the colloseum.... what a wonder to see.... Rome does it BIG! We walked around the colloseum and checked it out and then James took me to a church that has an underground excavation going on. He saw it on "Digging for the Truth" on Discovery channel. It was cool... basicaly it is rome on top of rome on top of rome...

We then headed back up to the colloseum and forum and spent the rest of the morning and afternoon walking around the forum. We are going to have to finish that up today because it is so big, it can't be done in one day.... and thats what I hear about the vatican.

We then got a Taxi ride over to the pantheon and had lunch\dinner and watched people. James was tired and so we decided to head back to the hotel and just relax for the evening. We walked back and took us a bit of time... but it was fun. We got back to the hotel about 7:00pm and we ended up crashing for the night.... way too much going on....

Another day notched into our travel belt, pictures galore, and good food... what a vacation. James keeps telling me he isn't going back!

Chao!

Monday, October 22, 2007

Day 6 - Rome

Today was another Lazy day... but I think that is how Rome is supposed to be handled. James was in bed again all day. He isn't feeling well still and thinks that this is the full blown cold and should be over it any day now. We were up last night until 2am playing Cribbage or at least for me learning how to play cribbage.... James always won, I think he cheats.... stacking the cards or getting information about mine from Paddy!

I didn't get up until after 9:45 this morning and breakfast was all done. So, I took a shower and decided to head out. I planned on taking a train to Sienna but decided against it when I got to the train station. I decided to hang out at the train station and have lunch and watch all the people coming and going. It was great. The lunch was awsome!

I headed back to the hotel for a little nap and to check up on James. It was a very cold day outside today and I wasn't properly dressed for hat kind of cold.

I decided to go out and check out a little more of Rome. So I took to the streets and started walking in the direction of the Roman Forum. I got there, did a little exploring and took some pictures but decided not to do too much because James and I are going there tomorrow. Lets just say it is awsome and the pictures will not be able to show how big this stuff is. Romans build things BIG... and I mean BIG!

I then hailed a Taxi... I was tired of walking and asked him to take me to the Pantheon.... I found a nice little cafe outside the Pantheon and had a Cappuccino and some Tarimisu while watching everyone roam around outside the. It was an awsome experience just sitting and relaxing watching everyone else.

I then found another Taxi and headed back to the Hotel to relax and write this blog.... oh just another day in Rome... its beautiful here, the people are great and the sites are incredible.

Chao!

Sunday, October 21, 2007

Rome - Day 5

Wow, 5 days already... no wonder I am tired....

I haven't killed James yet, Paddy has been keeping me from him.... they hang out a lot though... starting to wonder.

Today we got up and had breakfast at the hotel... it is included... very nice setup and very nice hotel. We are on the 4th floor overlooking Rome in the background.... the architecture is awsome and the people are great. Paddy decided to hang in the room today and rest up, very tired from the last couple of days.

James and I sat down and decided where to go, at least the first half of the day. We headed out to a Piazza to check it out, and went to a catacomb where a church used the bones from over 400 monks and decorated out of them. Very cool but wierd at the same time... I got postcards to show, so when I get back I will scan them in and share them.

We then headed up to the spanish steps.... thank goodness we ended up at the top and had to walk down, I would have died... James says I have only completed half the journey, he is welcome to go back and walk up them any time he wants.... me FEET HURT! We did stop off at a church at the top of the spanish steps and hang out... Sunday Mass was going on and that was kind of cool.

We headed down towards this thing for Agustus and ended up at some piazza that was real cool. We hung out there for a while while people sat at the fountain making out... James wouldn't kiss me... so we left. We headed down to the Tiber River and walked back to the Agustus thing.... it was closed as they were doing some repairs.... I did manage to pry a little rock out of the wall for Marciano.... hope I can get through customs.... :)

James and I split up at this point... I was tired and wanted to head back ot the hotel. James wanted to go look at some other things. I ended up walking back to the hotel and got lost... ended up seeing the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain.... all I can say is Amazing... pictures are awsome and there were like a billion people there.... I finaly made it back to the hotel and got a little rest... had McDonalds and just relaxed... I know.. McDonalds! I wanted to save a bit of money and I was tired... it still cost me 9.50 euros. James showed back up at the hotel about 6.30pm... he got lost too... James says he was temporarily misplaced... (LOST!)

We are currently watching Fantasy football and paying 2 Euros per hour on the internet... we are going to go get something to eat and then head back to the hotel to rest up for tomorrows adventure... maybe Paddy will feel up to heading out into Rome with us...

until tomorrow.. our adventure will continue...

Travel to Rome - Day 4

Ok, the italian keyboard is throwing me more than the british one. Where are all the keys at!

We got up in the morning and had a nice english breakfast.. again... Paddy decided to hang out at the hotel, he was exhausted from the trip so far. James and I ate well and headed back to the hotel to pack and make sure Paddy was ready to head to rome and get our paperwork in order. No better time than the last minute... right?

We had some time to kill so we went and hung out in Hyde Park and Paddy was up to his shinanigans again picking up on women. James offered to help some ladies with taking thier pictures, they asked if he was going to run away with thier camera... said he looked like a purse thief! Paddy and I just laughed!

We headed out to Heathrow airport and got checked in, and sat around waiting for the plane... only took 2 hours to get to Rome. We took the train into the Termini station and then walked to the hotel. Got checked in about 10pm Rome time... hmmmm, that would be like 1pm for you west coasters. I WAS HUNGRY!

So, we headed down the street to a Resturante' Italiano! Oh my lord, let me tell you it was awsome... and I am hooked on Cappaccino.. or however you spell it. I liked James' dinner better than mine, he had chicken with some mushroom sauce thing.. I had veal....

And then we went back to the hotel and crashed about 2am... very tired day....

Chao!

Friday, October 19, 2007

London - Day 3

Off to a slow start today! James and Paddy slept in, and in, and in, and in... they didn't get up until 4:30... now they will both be up all night! I hope I can sleep through all the noise they make.

After breakfast... this is of course where we left our hero this morning... I headed back to the hotel to get James and Paddy. They decided to sleep in, so I headed down to the British Museum to check things out. I got to see lots of stuff including the Rossetta Stone. I have lots of picutures and thought of Gary the hole time. He would love to see this stuff... I spent like 3 hours there just walking around.

MY FEET HURT!

All this walking, and its only really the 2nd Day. I need a vacation!

I came back from the museum and James was awake... we headed out for dinner and James DECIDED where we were going. He wanted a nice dinner and some meat, so we went to a nice steak house. Cost $79... for those of you who are not paying attention, that is in POUNDS... you go do the math... if you have been watching the news, you know its not WELL... only when exchange rates hit thier highest over here, do we decide to travel... KARMA!

So we are now sitting at the Internet Cafe' hangin out and chillin'. We are going to head back to the hotel and play some cribbage...

Hope everyone is having fun. WE ARE!

Time to go check Fantasy Football and make sure things are ready for the weekend... half way around the world and we are still able to make changes... what was up with Gordon when he emailed everyone and said his DSL didn't work... how did he send an Email?

God Save the Queen!

London - Day 2

We woke up early and headed out to breakfast today with James and Paddy 'scruffy' O'Malley. We had the full english breakfast and I was very happy as I had missed it. Two Eggs, Toast, Bacon, Sausage, Beans, Tomatoe and Mushrooms. James loved the fresh squeezed OJ. Paddy seemed to like it as well.

We headed down to the Tower of London to take the tour and check it out. That lasted until 2pm...ish. I went there last time but didn't realize there was so much to see so we hung around took many pictures. Paddy had a great time and met a friend that was traveling too. Oh some of the embarassing pictures Paddy will have to explain. But we did get to see the crown jewels. Very Nice!

We left the Tower of London and had lunch/dinner. It was lunch for me, Dinner for James... we had fish and chips and Paddy posed with the hired help... so cute! I think James hangs with Paddy all day to pick up on women... oh the pictures he has... and they seem to go Goo Goo over Paddy!

We decided to walk back to the Mellenium Bridge and from there we headed back to the London Eye and Parliment (Big Ben). We hit the Tube and headed back to the Hotel to relax... I got some food at the store and we kicked it watching two-half-men on DVD. Our hotel room is one room with two twin beds, a room with a couch and table, a kitchen and of course our own bathroom.... small but quaint.

We went to sleep around 11pm, I got up at 4am and chatted with James a bit then went back to bed at 5am and got up at 9am. It is now 10:36 in the morning and I am hangin in an Internet Cafe and about to go have breakfast... James is back sleeping becuase he isn't sleeping well....

We are now off to Day 3...

Day One - Travel Day

Up and early on Tuesday to get ready and leave for London! Boy we should have gotten ready a little before this so there wasn't so much to do. James was still doing laundry. I was packed and ready to go right before we left. Thanks to Phil for giving us a ride to the airport which we had to wait an extra 40 min as the flight was slightly delayed.

The flight was nice as we flew on a 747 through British Airways. That is the biggest jet I have ever flown on. The 747 has two floors, didn't get to see the first floor since that was first class. Trust me I tried, but the lady at the gate wouldn't upgrade us! Like my last trip to London the flight was quick and didn't seem to take too long. The best part was that the entertainment was an on-demand sort so you can pick and choose when to play the option you were looking for. The flight wasn't even full, so we lots of room and people were moving all over the place for extra space and sleeping. I watched movies and ate chocolate... oh what a good flight.

We landed in London at 12pm London Time... about 4am for those on the west coast... we now just needed to stay up until bed time to get acclimated to the new time zone. We took the Tube to downtown london and got checked into our hotel room. Very nice place and much roomier than the one I stayed at last trip to London.

I took James to downtown london to the Big Ben and the parliment. We said HI to the Queen... yeah right. We walked around and checked things out then headed back to the hotel through Paddington Station (Real Cool station). Went back, watched some two-half-men on DVD and then went to sleep around 9pm. We both woke up at midnight and couldn't believe it was so early and we felt like we slept forever. We stayed up a bit talking then went back to sleep... much better.

Monday, October 15, 2007

The Beginning

Tomorrow we leave for London and then Rome... please check back often for updates!